I just got a letter today which i thought was weird. Sallie Mae sold my loan, those bastards!
If you got a letter like this, Take extra caution with it and verify all info.
I read the letter and thought it was strange, then i went to the website, it was very un professional and offered no information. It always asked to register on the website and wanted personal information, included social security number.
I was already planning to call Sallie Mae themselves since i never received any type of notice and on manageyourloans.com, the loan in question was still under sallie mae.
Then i checked the Whois: http://whois.domaintools.com/ed-servicing.com
However the "claimed" owner is:
Affiliated Computer Services Inc.
but according to this offical website, no mention of the other domain:
https://www.acs-education.com/CS/Jsp/general/home.jsp
Definitely not from the government. On their letter the URL is ed-servicer.com, on the next page it's ed-servicing.com. I highly doubt a company or the government would make this mistake.
Compared the 2 websites, looks the scam artist copied the website but changed the contact numbers and other pertinent information.
Real: 1-800-835-4611 Fake: 1.800.508.1378
I am calling sallie mae asap.
Update:
Well i called sallie mae and they said it was true. I also googled the address and eventually found a document containing the address on the DOE site itself
Well i registered and entered in the information. It has my loan and current due, it showed i did do one payment already. So its a real crap site, but apparently it is real. Sorry for the scare, but you have to be very careful.

News